Tags

, ,

During my Statistics class, we had an activity about making conclusions and inferences. When my prof asked something related to it, I raised my hand then answer what I thought was a correct one. But it wasn’t perfectly correct so she had to make some clarifications to make my answer acceptable. Then my seatmates told me “Okay lang yan Tony!, Ganyan talaga si miss!” (rephrased)

I didn’t know what my teacher told me something wrong. As far as I remember and to be fair with my prof, she told me the correction in a very nice way making it not so shameful to everyone in class and not so traumatic!(like what some students felt).

Committing mistakes is not totally committing mistake unless you know yourself it’s wrong. Life isn’t about perfection. We have to accept that erring is a human thing and all of us will meet our own slip-ups. What’s important is how we dealt with it and how we took it as an additive to our own realizations. But people tend to be so defensive. Instead of accepting what others had given you consideration, you still end up putting yourself in a know-it-all situation. I sometimes wonder what’s with these people. There’s no more embarassing than making yourself suspicious of what makes you defensive. After all, people still question you though not heard by your ‘limited brain’.

At times, when we are corrected by some colleagues or even older than us, we took it oppositely. We give other meaning of what they really intend to communicate. Feeling hurt of which supposedly not and feeling so degraded of which supposedly make us better, proceeding it to a bad-effect relationship.

In my family, most of them are like this. If one has done something wrong, he tries to convince himself that everyone has mistakenly focus on a different idea and explains what seems to be not related to what had just happened. And there you go– the start of the battle. That’s why in our place, don’t expect peace of mind!

See how a simple thing gets complicated? Well in fact we can avoid being in trouble if we only knew how to humble ourselves to the things we wrongly committed. Honestly, it’s a lesser effort than defensing yourself– less use of vocabulary to explain things, less hand gestures while explaining, less wrinkles being produced by your getting-angry situation, less use of voice to speak out things, and less saliva use while talking! See how it was helpful? (take it seriously)

Going back to my Statistics class while being stand-corrected, I humbly said “sorry miss and thank you!” As simple as that yet I’ve learned! :))

