‘I invoke my right against self-incrimination!’

I’ve been updated with senate hearings through reading tweets of ANC, ABS-CBN, GMA, and other twitter accounts which are helpful in giving news update to the people. Over the weeks and since the beginning of senate hearing about the AFP corruption scandal, I always hear the phrase “I invoke my right against self-incrimination”. Thankfully, I am done with my political governance subject which we discussed this right and other constitutional laws.

Para sa mga hindi familiar kung ano nga ba itong ‘Right against self-incrimination’, I’ll give you a short background of it. According to the Philippine Constitution of 1987 Article 3 section 17, No person shall be compelled to be a witness against himself. This is limited to a prohibition against compulsory testimonial incriminition like extricating from defendant’s own lips, against his will, and an admission of his guilt. (Hope this one helps. For the complete Bill of Rights, click here.)

Sa nangyayari ngayon, gasgas na gasgas na itong right against self-incrimination. Ayaw man lang kasi pagpahingahin ng mga bayani kuno ng bansa. E parang lahat na lang ng itatanong ng mga senators ang isasagot nila ‘i invoke my right against self-incrimination’ Sana napipi ka na lang! O mas okay kung hindi ka na lang nabiyayaan ng bibig! Deform ang mukha. HAHAHA

E pano na lang pala kung sa lahat ng hearing, ‘I invoke my right against self-incrimination’ ang isasagot ng mga taong under arrest? Nagkaroon pa ng court trial o ng senate hearing kung hindi rin lang naman pala lalabas ang katotohanan dahil sa right na yan. Sa tingin ko kasi, useful lang yan kapag walang itinatago yung mga taong under custody. Unlike those people in AFP, halatang ayaw sabihin ang katotohan kaya puro ‘i Invoke my right against self-incrimination’ ang nalalaman. Hay buhay!

 

LET’S APPLY IT IN DAILY LIFE

THe CONVERSATION YOU ARE ABOUT TO READ IS NOT FACTUAL!

In a classroom during final exam. My professor caught me looking at my seatmate’s answer.

Prof: Mr. Gaupo, why are you looking at your seatmate’s paper?
Ako: No I’m not.
Prof: Then why the both of you have the same answer?
Ako: I invoke my right against self-incrimination!

For sure, sabaw si prof niyan! E what if, masungit si prof katulad ni Ms. Sison. She sent me in Disciplinary office.

DO Officer: Nagcheat ka raw?
Ako: I invoke my right against self-incrimination!
DO officer: Bakit mo ginawa yun?
Ako: Sinabi ko bang nagcheat ako?
Do officer: e bakit ayaw mong magsalita?
Ako: I invoke my right against self-incrimination!

Ano kayang magagawa ng DO sa ganitong pagkatataon? Papalayain niya kaya ako? Siguro, kasi makukulitan siya sakin e HAHAHA. Paglabas sa DO, inusisa ako ng mga kaibigan at classmate ko.

Classmate 1: hoy, anong nangyari?
Ako: Wala
Classmate 2: Anong wala? di ba pinadala ka sa DO?
Ako: oo nga. e wala naman silang napala sa akin e.
Classmate 1: bakit? Hindi ka nagka-major offense?
Ako: hindi, malakas ako e
Classmate 2: pano nangyari yun?
Ako: I invoke my right against self-incrimination!

Ayos ba? So tip ko sa inyo yan. HAHAHA joke! Next scene, papauwi na raw ako ng bahay. Tumawid sa EDSA kahit may nakalagay na ‘Bawal tumawid, may namatay na dito’ Nakita ng MMDA.

MMDA: (pumito at lumapit sa akin) Sir, jaywalking ka po. Sa presinto na lang po kayo magpaliwanag.
Ako: (galit ang boses) I invoke my right against self-incrimination! (sabay alis)

Sungit ko pala. HAHAHA. Pag-uwi sa bahay, Ako at si ate lang ang tao. Nakita ko wallet niya kaya kumuha ako ng pera.  Pagtingin niya sa wallet niya kulang na.

ate: hoy, ikaw kumuha ng pera ko no?
ako: I invoke my right against self-incrimination!
ate: :|

Dahil nakakuha ako ng pera, nagpunta ako sa bar. Nagpakasaya at nakakita ng magandang babae. Dahil lasing na ako at wala na sa katinuan, hinalikan ko siya.

Babae: hayop ka, bakit mo ako hinalikan?
Ako: (boses ng lasing) I invoke my right against self-incrimination!

Sa lovelife…

Babae: i love you
ako: thank you (pogi ng dating HAHAHA)
Babae: mahal mo ba ako?
ako: I invoke my right against self-incrimination!

Exage yung mga example ko obviously, pero ganito ba ang klase ng society na gusto niyong makita? If everyone will remain silent, what is justice for? What the word ‘truth’ might mean to all of us? If everyone takes for granted their right against self-incrimination, mas marami kayang kriminal ngayon? Or the other way around because trial court don’t need due process therefore, suspects can be detained anytime or, if there is death penalty, killed!

Hindi ko alam kung nakatulong ba tong post ko sa inyo o it is just another non-sense blog na nagawa ng isang taong walang magawa. Yun lang. Bow!

39 thoughts on “‘I invoke my right against self-incrimination!’

  1. isa lang masasabi ko sau: SABAW KA NA.
    hahahaha
    on a more serious point, oo nga. agree ako jan. hello, kung lahat ng mga accused sa lahat ng mga cases sa mga courts natin, ganyan ang sagot, eh ano pa ang silbi ng prosecution? it will be impossible to use the statement: justice is served! :|
    and yes, Tony, may naitulong ka sa pagbblog mo tungkol dito. social change won’t start unless someone takes the initiative. :)

  2. ang ganda ng pagkakasulat mo. sapul….
    ang hindi lang maganda ay yung paulit-ulit na line ‎”I invoke my right against self-incrimination”…. badtrip talaga sila. akala ko hindi ko na ulit maririnig ang linyang yan, after the Jose Pidal/ Iggy Arroyo ba yun?!…hayzzzz

    • First, thank you for pointing out what you like and dislike about my blog.

      That actually lead me to write this blog. I have heard so much of this even before mrs.ligot’s time. Sobrang gasgas na!

      Thank you and Godbless :))

  3. Umuulan na naman ng ‘right against self incrimination’ galing sa mag-asawang Ligot. Sana maligotan na sila ng hininga.

    • hi panalongkuha and lee. Oo nga e. lahat na lang ba ng itatanong sa kanila kelangang sabihin yun? I mean, marami ba silang itinatago para paulit-ulit nilang ipagsigawan sa senate yung right nilang yun?

      I wonder kung merong counter-act ang senate with regards to this right. pero hopefully meron kasi nonsense talaga ang senate hearing kung hindi naman pala maisisiwalat yung totoong nangyari.

      Thank you for dropping by my site and leaving your comments. Godbless the both of you! :))

  4. men,

    I want to comment on this post but, “I invoke my right against self-incrimination”

    hahahaha

    On the other hand, ayun tumaas na naman altapresyon ni mrs. ligot dahil sa panggigisa ni Jinggoy pero kamtotinkofit parang napaka ironic, kc ung mga nagtatanong sa senado akala mo ang lilinis. Anak ng tokwa natuto pa sila gumawa ng another palusot dahil sa experience nila sa mga ganitong sitwasyon. Tingin mo pag sila nalagay sa alanganin ano kaya sasabihin nila (hindi kaya, i invoke my right against self-incrimination sabi ng lawyer ko. :D

    On the impeachment of OMG (Ombudsman Merceditas Gutierrez)

    It’s 212 yes to 47 no to impeachment, for further readings check this out

    http://moncasiple.wordpress.com/2011/03/22/its-no-mercy/

    Since, you’re all into politics might as well follow his blog.
    Btw, he’s my former boss.

    • Grabe talaga. Kung lahat nakakainis na bagay about politics nakakamatay, siguro marami nang dedbols ngayon at kasama tayo dun! HAHAHA.

      I dont wanna question the credibility of senators. LEt’s just think positive. Sorry but I am really optimistic when it comes to governance. :))

      And hey, thank you for giving me the link. Nasabi nga sa akin ni camz na boss mo nga raw si Mon Casiple. Have you learned a lot from him?

      Thank you Mon. Godbless :))

  5. to all who have read this blog, sana kahit paulit-ulit na nating naririnig itong ‘i invoke my right against self-incrimination’ drama, sana wag tayong magsawang panuorin at makialam sa isyung ito. We are all affected of it. At kung magsasawa tayong makialam sa mga problema ng bansa, walang mangyayari sa atin. Instead baka mas lalo pang magsaya ang mga taong nananamantala ng kapangyarihan nila.

    Let’s all be united as one for the battle of justice. Together as one!

    Godbless everyone and Godbless Philippines!

  6. Kailangan ko bang mag-comment? I invoke my right against self-incriminations lol! famous lines yan ng mga corrupt officials, kahit hindi na dapat ginagamit pa din nila, na-obvious tuloy na guilty, galing ni jinggoy magtanong kay ligot yung dummy na bahay sa aneheim hindi daw kanya bilis sasagot, nung pinakita ung isang bahay na pag-aari ni LIGOT ang sagot nya ” I INVOKE MY RIGHT AGAINST SELF-INCRIMINATION! What the hell!

  7. Pingback: ‘I invoke my right against self-incrimination!’ (via My Life is My Message) « jbsingson21

  8. hi Anthony,

    We are Human Rights Online Philippines or HRonlinePH (Promotion and Protection of Human Rights in the Philippines through Information Resources Online). I enjoyed reading this blog/article of yours. We are re-posting this to our site on Sunday if you don’t mind.

    If it’s ok with you, we would like to invite you to share with us your future articles/blog. you can submit it to HRonlinePH@gmail.com. You can visit our site at hronlineph.wordpress.com and join us in blogging for human rights. we would like to invite HR bloggers to join us in a network by linking and promoting Human Rights with us through online.

    Thank you very much!
    HRonlinePH

    • It’s my pleasure to have my blog posted in your site. Thank you for enjoying reading this post. I hope this would help you in promoting human rights.

      It’s an honor to work with you. I would love sending articles in your email if there are new thoughts playing around my mind. :D

      Again, thank you. Godbless you, Godbless us FIlipinos and Godbless PHilippines!

  9. Pingback: [Blogger] ‘I invoke my right against self-incrimination!’ – anthonygaupo.wordpress.com | Human Rights Online Philippines

  10. i enjoy reading this blog of urs… kung pede sana gawa ka pa ng madaming ganto regarding sa rights natin.. xDD

    nakakatuwa kasi e… natututo ka na.. nag eenjoy ka pa… :))

    thx

    • thank you from reading my blog. It’s my pleasure to know that you enjoyed my post.

      Sige yaan mo, kapag nakaisip ko ng matinding topic, gagawa ako! Again, thanks and Godbless :))

  11. the only thing i can say is that ” i invoke my rights against self incrimination” who invented this phrase ??how can we solved problems if those people who need to answers those questions are saying this.. if i will become a president i will abolish this kind of rights…this is the disadvantage of this right

    • Yes, it is really a disadvantage on the part of the prosecutor. However, the bill of rights, art 3 of the constitution (where you can find the right against self-incrimination) was made in favor of the defendant.

      So there, I just do not know if the senate, congress, and SC can do something on the over usage of this right or if there are limitations and exceptions to the practice of this right.

      Thank you. and Godbless!

  12. It just shows how the Criminals are very important to the constitution because they do have this kind of right. Perhaps we can’t determine kung guilty nga ang accused or not, therefore, anyone can use that statement. Those jokes above are really good. (ma-apply nga..hehe..) habang binabasa ko’y napapatawa nalang ako .. wala po bang panlaban sa statement na “I invoke my rights against self incrimination”?

  13. Thanks for your blog, this helps a lot enlightening to those searching legal issues. You are right! but in the time of former Chief Justice Corona’s impeachment trial, these words ‘invoking the right for self-incrimination’ were over used by some witnesses presented both the prosecution and the defense team. Where is due process? Where these words originated? May the legal minds have something to do questioning this rights. Thank you

    • Thank you!

      Yes you’re right. At this point, I really wanna ask whoever is credible about law so that we could get a clearer and a more definite answer with regards to the extent of this right.

Leave a Reply

